Home News Breaking: Governors Agree On 14-Day Coronavirus National Lockdown

Breaking: Governors Agree On 14-Day Coronavirus National Lockdown


All the Governors of the 36 States of the Federation on Wednesday “unanimously” agreed to the implementation of an inter-State lockdown for 14 days to contain the spread of COVID-19 (coronavirus).

The Governors reached the agreement after receiving a briefing from the Governors of Lagos, Bauchi, Oyo, and Ogun States who shared their experiences and lessons from the fight against COVID-19.

Naija News reports the Governors met on Wednesday via teleconferencing under the aegis of the Nigeria Governors’ Forum (NGF).

A communiqué on issues discussed during the meeting was read by the NGF chairman and governor of Ekiti State, Kayode Fayemi. He noted that provision would be made for only essential services during the national lockdown.

Fayemi said: “Governors unanimously agreed to the implementation of an inter-state lockdown in the country over the next two weeks to mitigate the spread of the virus from state to state. Only essential services will be permitted.”

“In order to strengthen coordinated implementation of necessary public health recommendations across states, governors resolved to set up COVID-19 committees at the regional level, headed by their state Commissioners of Health.

“Regional committees will continue to interface with the State Task Force Committees on COVID-19 already established in each state.”

As at the last update given by the NCDC at 11:25 pm on April 21, 25 States in Nigeria had confirmed cases of coronavirus infection with 782 confirmed cases.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here